Colorado Criminal Defense Blog

False Sexual Assault Allegations: What To Do When You’ve Been Falsely Accused

False sexual assault allegations–believe it or not, these come around a lot more than the general public would like to believe. You’ve found yourself in this nightmare scenario, being on the wrong side of false sexual assault allegations. And, quite frankly, it’s a situation for which no one can adequately prepare for. We’ll walk you through the steps of what to do when you’ve been falsely accused of sexual assault.

Unfortunately, many situations exist that can lead to this horrible scenario:

    Mischaracterized consensual contact Misidentification by an
[..]

Romeo and Juliet Law in Colorado

In Colorado, like in many states, we colloquially call our statutory rape laws the “Romeo and Juliet law”. This is in reference to the fact that Shakespeare’s titular pair were several years apart in age, and that Juliet was underage while Romeo was not; in a Romeo and Juliet law, there is an exception for young people close in age where one is underage.

The premise of the Romeo and Juliet law is that minors are not capable of giving consent to sexual activity. Statutory rape occurs [..]

Consequences of Sexting in Colorado

Cell phones have become not only ubiquitous, but their capabilities have outstripped anything their earliest users may have ever dreamed. This includes, of course, the ability to take and transmit high-quality videos and photographs instantly, with relative ease. Irregardless, sexting in Colorado comes with its fair share of penalties.

This ability has spawned the phenomena of “sexting”. Where people send suggestive or nude photos to others using their cell phones. 

Colorado doesn’t recognize sexting between consenting adults as a crime.

However, the letter of the law becomes [..]

Colorado Age of Consent Laws

The age of consent in Colorado, is 17 years old. Similarly to other states, when a minor is involved, age difference plays a major role in criminal charges. 

Age of Consent Exceptions

Close in Age Exemption

Colorado has a “close in age” exemption, more commonly known as “Romeo and Juliet Law”. This states that anyone under the age of 15 can legally consent to have sexual relations with someone who is no more than 4 years older. Also, a person who is under the age of 17, [..]

Defense Strategies That Can Help You Beat Colorado Sex Charges

If you have been accused of committing a sex crime in Colorado, you’re up against some serious consequences. To protect your freedom and future, it’s essential for you to craft the strongest possible defense strategy to fight back against your charges.

While the only way to really know which strategy is most likely to be successful in your situation is to consult with a knowledgeable Denver criminal lawyer, it can also be valuable to make yourself aware of the resources available to you and the typical strategies [..]